A Resting Place Retrospective

© H. Scott Heist 12 / splintercottage.com

It’s hard to believe that is has been nearly two weeks since A Resting Place made its world premiere.  What a whirlwind weekend and what a great turn out. The week leading up to the event was spent checking the weather report every few hours to see if the possible rain showers were going to force us in doors.  Not only did it not rain, but the days got warmer and more beautiful as the weekend went along.  As nervous as some might have been that all the venues would make for a complicated weekend, great planning and helpful volunteers made everything possible in the end.

It was difficult for me to appreciate the grandeur of our show because I could only see it from the inside.  But I will say, once the wagon started rolling in for our first night, once I could see the large crowd spread through out the space and could hear the music swell into the sky, that was when I knew this thing that has been so important to me for nearly two years was now important to the whole community of Bethlehem.

We are thrilled to report that there was an estimated attendance of 1500 over the course of the weekend. Every day the cast was met with uproarious applause and appreciation.  Everyone I’ve talked to commented on what a huge success it was, everything from the beautiful wagon to the incredible elephant and the tremendous cast has been praised with delight.

It was an incredibly challenging weekend, and seemed to take on epic proportions.  I think for me it was right around the time I painted make up on about the 50th chorus member on the first night that it really hit me what a marathon I was participating in.  In the end it was all worth it, and it will be a story to share with everyone willing to listen for a lifetime to come.

For hundreds of photos from the weekend of production, please visit our facebook page.  Many thanks to H. Scott Heist for creating such artful documentation of a truly one of a kind event.  And thanks to everyone involved for making A Resting Place a huge success.

© H. Scott Heist 12 / splintercottage.com


One response to “A Resting Place Retrospective

  • Mabel Michael

    I appreciated your thoughtful retrospective on “A Resting Place”. You can always look back on that weekend (and the two years preceding it)
    with pride and joy. You touched the hearts of many, many people,
    including mine.

Leave a comment